In 2008, the Petr Aven Charity Foundation "Generation" established an excellence scholarship for students of the University of Latvia (UL) Faculty of Business, Management and Economics to promote students' pursuit of excellence in studies.

The scholarship is intended for bachelor’s programme students of the UL Faculty of Business, Management and Economics, starting from their second year of studies, and master’s programme studies, starting from their first year of studies. Scholarship recipients are permitted to have a paid employment and receive scholarships of other patrons.

Number of scholarships: 3 (2 scholarships for bachelor’s programme students, 1 – for a master’s programme student).

Scholarship amount: EUR 3 000 per academic year for bachelor’s programme students, EUR 2 000 per academic year for a master’s programme student.

Scholarship Commission: Dean of the UL Faculty of Business, Management and Economics Prof. Gundars Bērziņš (Chairman of the Scholarship commission), representative of the Petr Aven Charity Foundation “Generation” Polina Tamuža, Executive Director of the Petr Aven Charity Foundation “Generation” Igors Bass, Executive Director of the UL Foundation Laila Kundziņa.

Applicants who are invited to participate in the 2nd round of the scholarship competition, shall prepare an essay on the topic “Excellence in my life and its role in contemporary society” and submit it by email to within the indicated deadline. The volume of the essay is up to 6 000 characters, including spaces.

After assessment of the essays, the representatives of the University of Latvia Foundation or the UL Faculty of Business, Management and Economics invite the selected applicants to face-to-face interviews, which result in final decision of scholarship award.

Within a single academic year, the applicant may receive only one scholarship financed by the patrons of the University of Latvia Foundation.

Scholarship recipients

In the 2020/2021 academic year - Keita Smalkā, Alisa Uzariņa un Sabīne Veide.

In the 2019/2020 academic year – Vairis Stramkalis, Lauma Lubāne and Aleksejs Srebnijs.
In the 2018/2019 academic year – Liene Kaibe, Laura Janovska and Undīne Svelpe.
In the 2017/2018 academic year – Undīne Svelpe, Alisa Uzariņa and Kristīne Casno.
In the 2016/2017 academic year – Renāta Petrova, Ilze Rūtiņa and Diāna Anna Kreicberga.