LELCA (Latvian Evangelical Lutheran Church Abroad) through its "Fund for Tomorrow" (Rītdienas fonds) (1972) has supported the staff of UL Faculty of Theology from the beginning of its existence, and since the 2010/2011 academic year, it has started to grant scholarships to the students of theology.

In the period from 2010 to 2014, LELCA "Fund for Tomorrow" granted scholarships with the aim to support the young scholars of UL Faculty of Theology, giving preference to those students who wished to devote their lives to service in the Latvian Lutheran parishes. The scholarship was dedicated to the memory of Dean Emeritus Uldis Cepure. 

Dean Uldis Cepure was born in 1935 in Riga. He finished primary school in Germany and secondary school in Nebraska, USA, where he studied theology and obtained a degree of Master of Divinity in 1960. U. Cepure began to serve as a pastor in the parishes of Americans, the descendants of German and Swedish immigrants, who elected him as Dean in South Dakota. In the Latvian Church, U. Cepure served from the year 1974, for the longest period, in Minneapolis and St. Paul’s parish – from 1986 to his passing away on 18 September 2005. Dean Cepure incessantly expanded his theological outlook, both academically and through practical experience.

With his placid nature and attitude, he gained respect in his parish and in the church, and in 1993 was elected the head of LELCA, serving in his capacity of a Dean as a spiritual vice-president for the entire statutory period of nine years. 


Holders of the scholarships granted by LELCA "Fund for Tomorrow":

In the 2013/2014 academic year, the scholarship (EUR 1 570) granted to Kristaps Kravalis.
In the 2012/2013 academic year, the scholarship (EUR 1 570) granted to Agnese Puiķe.
In the 2011/2012 academic year, the scholarship (EUR 1 450) granted to Agnese Puiķe.
In the 2010/2011 academic year, the scholarship in the amount of EUR 1 450 granted to the student of the Faculty of Theology Elana Jurgena.

We greatly appreciate the generous support to the UL Faculty of Theology!