Jānis Priedkalns Medical Science Research Foundation Scholarship

The scholarship foundation has been established to promote the development of medical education in Latvia by an Australian Latvian, the University of Latvia (UL) Honorary Doctor, Prof. Dr. med. Jānis Priedkalns in 2010.


The scholarship is intended for those University of Latvia (UL) students in master's and doctoral programmes of medicine and residency, who are involved in neurological research, primarily in the field of neuroendocrinology.

Number of scholarships: 2 (1 scholarship for master’s programme students, 1 – for a doctoral programme student or a resident in medicine).

Scholarship amount: EUR 3 500 per academic year for a master’s programme student, EUR 5 000 per academic year for a doctoral programme student or a aresident in medicine.

Scholarship committee: Dean of the UL Faculty of Medicine, Professor Valdis Folkmanis (Chairman of the Scholarship commission), Professor at the UL Faculty of Medicine Vija Zaiga Kluša, Professor at the UL Faculty of Medicine Ruta Muceniece, Executive Director of the UL Foundation Laila Kundziņa.

Within a single academic year, the applicant may receive only one scholarship financed by the patrons of the University of Latvia Foundation.