The scholarship has been established with the support of the "Vereins der Pastorinnen und Pastoren in Nordelbien e.V." (Germany) to support the students of the University of Latvia (UL) Faculty of Theology.

"Our cooperation with the University of Latvia Faculty of Theology began after the fall of the Iron Curtain. We believe that it is important to strengthen the science of theology and religion, and thus we have been supporting students and awarding scholarships since 1995. We are proud to contribute to Latvian science and freedom of spirit," says Helmut Brauer, Head of the "Vereins der Pastorinnen und Pastoren in Nordelbien e.V.".

The scholarship is intended for the UL Faculty of Theology students.

Number of scholarships: 2.

Scholarship amount: EUR 3 000 per academic year.

Scholarship Commission: Dean of the UL Faculty of Theology Prof. Dace Balode (Chairman of the Scholarship commission), Pastor of Luther's parish Linards Rozentāls, Archbishop of the Latvian Evangelical Lutheran Church Abroad Lauma Zušēvica, Professor at the UL Faculty of Theology Valdis Tēraudkalns and Financial consultant of the Kārlis Ozoliņš-Emīls Mednis Charitable Trust Ivars Petrovskis.

Applicant assessment criteria:

  1. Study results – preference is given to students with a higher weighted average mark in the latest examination session.
  2. Interest in theology and religious studies.
  3. Involvement in the life of the faculty.
  4. The scholarship is ecumenical, intended for students of all denominations. It is desirable that the applicant be baptized and belong to a particular Christian congregation.
  5. Difficult social conditions are also taken into account.
  6. The scholarship is awarded to at least one female student each year.

Conditions for obtaining the scholarship:

  1. Full-time studies;
  2. The scholarship is not paid during academic leave, absence, study breaks, etc;
  3. Studies must be carried out solely at the UL Faculty of Theology;
  4. No other patronage scholarships are received at the same time with the current scholarship;
  5. The scholarship is not awarded to the students during their first semester of the study programme;
  6. The scholarship holder must be responsive in communication with the scholarship provider.

Within a single academic year, the applicant may receive only one scholarship financed by the patrons of the University of Latvia Foundation.

Scholarship recipients

In the 2020/2021 academic year - Roberts Galvāns un Anna Norvele. 

In the 2019/2020 academic year – Uģis Pallo, Aleksejs Gaļperns.
In the 2018/2019 academic year – Anna Dobele, Annija Jenča.
In the 2017/2018 academic year – Endija Latvena, Dāvis Sargūns.