The scholarship was created on the basis of testamentary donation of USD 223 000 by the Honorary Consul of Latvia in Southern California, Doctor of Engineering Alfrēds Raisters (1921–2012).

"The scholarship is intended for the future researchers who already have a clear plan of their future, as a means to fund their intentions, preferably a project or research that has already been developed," emphasizes A. Raisters’ daughter, Dr. ing. Silvija Būmane-Sila.

One of the important conditions for receiving support is the student's readiness to remain in Latvia after conclusion of the scholarship for a period of time that matches the period during which he or she received the support, in order to benefit Latvian society.

Scholarship is intended for the University of Latvia master's level students studying exact sciences.

Number of scholarships: 10.

Scholarship amount: EUR 3 000 per academic year.

Scholarship committee: Dean of the UL Faculty of Physics, Mathematics and Optometry, Associate Professor Sandris Lācis (Chairman of the Scholarship commission), Dean of the UL Faculty of Biology, Associate Professor Didzis Elferts, Dean of the UL Faculty of Geography and Earth Sciences, Professor Zaiga Krišjāne, Dean of the UL Faculty of Chemistry Dr. chem. Jāzeps Logins, Public Relations Specialist of the UL Faculty of Physics, Mathematics and Optometry Karlīna Engere.

Within a single academic year, the applicant may receive only one scholarship financed by the patrons of the University of Latvia Foundation.

Scholarship recipients

In the 2019/2020 academic year – Anna Kiršteina, Eva Emīlija Česle, Artūrs Bušs, Helvijs Niedra, Baiba Kaņepe, Līga Paparde, Andris Ziemelis, Elīna Pavlovska, Dāvis Zavickis, Ilze Izabella Dindune and Maksims Ivanovs.

In the 2018/2019 academic year – Elviss Dvinskis, Anna Kiršteina, Līga Paparde, Elīna Pavlovska, Krišjānis Rudus, Marija Samoviča, Māris Seņkovs, Kristīne Soboļevska, Monta Ustinova, Nineļa Miriama Vainšelbauma, Viesturs Zandersons, Dāvis Zavickis and Rimants Žogota.

In the 2017/2018 academic year – Kristīne Soboļevska, Jēkabs Fridmanis, Antons Pribitoks, Dita Pelnēna, Jānis Leitāns, Jurijs Ješkins, Viesturs Zandersons, Andris Dekants, Jānis Ivanovs, Alise Ella Pretkalniņa, Haralds Baunis, Andris Potrebko, Mihails Šišovs and Anna Kiršteina.

In the 2016/2017 academic year – Aigars Langins, Emils Sjundjukovs, Jānis Leitāns, Svjatoslavs Kistkins, Anna Kiršteina, Ilze Elbere, Marta Priedīte, Antons Pribitons, Inga Jonāne and Mārcis Sējējs.